Americans Nordhaus, Romer win Nobel Economics Prize

STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN (OCTOBER 8, 2018) (REUTERS) – Americans William Nordhaus and Paul Romer won the 2018 Nobel Economics Prize for work in integrating climate change and technological innovation into economic analysis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said on Monday (October 8).

Nordhaus, of Yale University, was the first person to create a quantitative model that described the interplay between the economy and the climate, the academy said.

Romer, of New York University’s Stern School of Business, has shown how economic forces govern the willingness of firms to produce new ideas and innovations, laying the foundations for a new model for development, known as endogenous growth theory.

“Their findings have significantly broadened the scope of economic analysis by constructing models that explain how the market economy interacts with nature and knowledge,” the academy said in statement.

Worth 9 million Swedish crowns ($1 million), the economics prize was established in 1968. It was not part of the original group of five awards set out in Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel’s 1895 will.

Associated Links

  • Fellows of the Econometric Society
  • Geography of Europe
  • Geography of Sweden
  • Economics
  • William Nordhaus
  • Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences
  • Paul Romer
  • Stockholm
  • Sweden
  • DICE model
  • Book:Nobel Prize

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.