Film

It’s Oscars time in Hollywood

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA, UNITED STATES (FEBRUARY 24, 2019) (REUTERS) – Hollywood is preparing for the Oscars on Sunday (February 24) filled with suspense over the movie industry’s biggest prize and a night of what could be history-making firsts.

Without a host for the first time in 30 years, there’s also curiosity over whether organizers can return the Academy Awards to a must-see television event after a record low audience in 2018.

Disney’s “Black Panther,” the first superhero movie ever nominated for best picture, will compete against popular musicals “A Star is Born” from Warner Bros and 21st Century Fox film “Bohemian Rhapsody,” along with racially themed “Green Book” and “BlacKkKlansman” from Universal Pictures .

Black-and-white Mexican film “Roma,” quirky 18th century Fox Searchlight comedy “The Favourite” and independent political satire “Vice” round out the competition

After two months of intense and costly campaigning, award watchers say the winner is anyone’s guess.

The winners are chosen by the 8,000 members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The Academy Awards will be televised live on ABC television starting at 8 p.m. EST/5 p.m. PST (0100 GMT on Monday).


Associated Links

  • Fox Searchlight
  • Fox
  • ABC TELEVISION
  • Walt Disney
  • Warner Bros
  • California
  • Geography of Los Angeles
  • Central Los Angeles
  • Academy Awards
  • Hollywood
  • Cinema of the United States

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.