Hamilton wins Formula One’s 1,000th race

SHANGHAI, CHINA (APRIL 14, 2019) (FOM) – Lewis Hamilton won the Chinese Grand Prix to seize the overall lead from his Mercedes team mate Valtteri Bottas in Formula One’s 1,000th world championship race on Sunday (April 14).

Bottas, who had made a poor start from pole and lost out to five times world champion Hamilton into the first corner, was second for his team’s third one-two finish in as many races this season.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel took third place, his first podium appearance of the campaign, with Red Bull’s Pierre Gasly denying the German an extra point with the fastest lap right at the end.

The win was the 75th of Hamilton’s career, second in a row after his lucky triumph in Bahrain two weeks ago, and sixth in China.

“To have a one-two together is really special on the 1,000th grand prix. But the start was really where I was able to make the difference, after that it was kind of history,” said the Briton, who also won the 900th in Bahrain in 2014.

He is now just 16 victories short of Michael Schumacher’s all time record tally of 91.

There has yet to be a winner this year from pole position, with Bottas triumphant in the Australian opener in similar fashion to Hamilton in China.

Vettel’s team mate Charles Leclerc, on pole in Bahrain but denied victory there after a late loss of power while leading, finished fifth behind Red Bull’s Max Verstappen, who briefly went wheel-to-wheel with Vettel for the final podium spot.

Leclerc got ahead of Vettel at the start but was then instructed by Ferrari to let his team mate through, an order the Monegasque complied with while making clear that he did not agree.

Gasly was sixth, ahead of Renault’s Daniel Ricciardo — the Australian’s first finish of the season — and Racing Point’s Sergio Perez.

Kimi Raikkonen finished ninth for Alfa Romeo and Thailand’s Alexander Albon, who started from the pitlane after missing qualifying due to a heavy crash in final practice, took the final point for Toro Rosso.

Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg, McLaren’s Lando Norris and Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat were the three retirements.

The last two and the other McLaren of Carlos Sainz were involved in a three-car tangle on the opening lap that resulted in a brief virtual safety car period.

Associated Links

  • Red Bull
  • Mclaren
  • Renault
  • Ferrar
  • Open wheel racing
  • Formula One
  • Chinese Grand Prix
  • Valtteri Bottas
  • Bahrain Grand Prix
  • Mercedes AMG F1 W09 EQ Power+

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.